Almost made it!

A nomadic lifestyle is difficult. It becomes an addiction that effects every aspect of my life from my relationships to my physical and mental well being. I long for a stable place, a home, and at the same time I find myself unsatisfied by staying in one place. I become unhappy in even the place I call my paradise. Not unhappy because I don’t have friends or because this place no longer interests me. There is no reason for my unhappiness, at least none that I can conjure. But every 4 months or so I feel the need to go. Go where? I don’t know. I just want to get in my car and turn a corner I’ve never turned before, my meager belongings stored in my trunk and my mind set on a new destination. I am beguiled by adventure, charmed by the bend in every road. I want to know what is around every corner. I want to walk to the end of every road, path, and dream. I have my reservations of course. I am shy and sometimes frightened by the prospect of riding buses in the city. But when I know something is out there for me to discover I find it in my own time.

I have spent many hours in airports, cars, buses, trains, walking. I’ve gone separate ways from my friends in order to go down the less traveled path. By doing this I have discovered and learned so many unique things I would have never known existed without taking so many chances and trusting in some pretty sketchy people. I have tried and tried again to share with the world my discoveries but have found myself talking to glazed eyes and uninspired imaginations. What I’ve learned is I’m not a story teller. So, I’m trying to be a better writer. Yes, there is a difference.

Yesterday my friend Tessa and I tried to go to Kibbie Lake. It’s only about a 7 mile hike one way to this gorgeous lake. We were real excited about it. So we started the day early and drove the hour or so down the crazy windy roads through the Poopenaut Valley to Cherry Lake.

Cherry Lake
Cherry Lake

The hiking is of course beautiful the entire way. It’s just a gorgeous area right on the border of the Stanislaus National Forest and Yosemite.

 

Newt!
Newt!

DSC_0264

DSC_0266

DSC_0270

And then we reached Kibbie “Creek” and decided we might be in over our heads, so to speak. The river was a bit high to cross and even though we made a valiant effort to cross it, it was just too damn deep.

DSC_0273 DSC_0278 DSC_0282 DSC_0288 DSC_0289

 

So we had to hike back out, popping over to see Lake Eleanor.

DSC_0297

 

Then we went back to Cherry Lake and Tessa went fishing and caught nothing because her fishing pole doesn’t work.

DSC_0303

 

And I made dinner.

DSC_0305

 

Then we went home and made cookies. It was a good day all in all. The hiking was beautiful and making cookies is always wonderful. I do love living here.

1 Comment

  1. I understand your nomadic desire to wander. If you like the adventure of always being somewhere new, you should become a musician…always traveling to new places and meeting new people seems to make me happy and thankfully I get to do a lot of that being a singer-songwriter. Meeting you in Yosemite was one the things I like about traveling. I’m glad you have a blog and that you write about your experiences. I do the same if you wanna check it out: http://briantravis.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment